NEWS

Awards for the Trash Cemetery film

Miradas-Doc-award
DOK-fest-Munchen-award

TRASH CEMETERY directed by Firas Rebiai won the Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival Blue Ice Docs Grant, the DOK.fest München award and the MiradasDoc award on Durban FilmMart SA 2022. The project is developed within EURODOC22 by Firas Rebiai (Nap, Tunisia) and coproduced by Julien Coquet (Backstory Media, France) and just received the support of the CNC – Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée (France) – @CNCI (Tunisia) Franco-tunisian coproduction Fund. We couldn’t be happier for this great news !

Learn more

Filming in progress in Senegal for the documentary series Yiconomy

Directed by Zhang Nan.
Decoding The Global Trade Power Rising From Yiwu. (6x45mins | 4K | Discovery Channel)
A co-production by Pango Pictures (China) & Backstory Media (France).

Yiconomy-1
Yiconomy-2
Yiconomy-4
Yiconomy-5
Yiconomy-6

Filming in progress in China for The Premiere

Directed by Luyao Zhang.
Ying comes from a fishing village on a small island in southern China. He was never a good student at school. Most of the people in his “gang” in the village grew up as labourers or fishermen. It’s a place where no one cares what modern dance is. However, for Ying, from the day he learned to dance, it became his only goal: to become a contemporary dancer. Dance then becomes a means of social emancipation for Ying, leaving the old way of life of his family to live his dream in Beijing, and prepare his big return to the village to organize one day his big “Premiere”.

A co-production by Pango Pictures (China) & Backstory Media (France).

Learn more

International Scientific Symposium on Polar Warming

We are present at the International Scientific Symposium on Polar Warming, organized by the Prince Albert II Foundation of Monaco, as part of our impact documentary «Antarctica, the cold hard truth», directed by Pascal Guérin!

This Polar Symposium will bring together internationally renowned experts and scientists to address issues related to how and how quickly changes in the polar regions of our planet affect the climate, living and social systems, and how it concerns all of us.

The event aims to inform on management, policies and collective action in the clusters and to feed processes at international and regional levels. It will serve as a historical dialogue reaffirming the role of science in decision-making and revisiting the critical role of the cryosphere in the context of climate change.

The symposium is co-organized by the Prince Albert II Foundation of Monaco, Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), and the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC), in collaboration with the Oceanographic Institute of Monaco, Prince Albert I Foundation, the International Cryosphere Climate Initiative (ICCI) and the United Nations Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development.

Symposium-Monaco
POLAR_INITIATIVE-logo

NEWS

Tournage en cours au Sénégal pour la série documentaire Yiconomy

Réalisé par Zhang Nan
Décoder la puissance du commerce mondial en provenance de Yiwu. (6 épisodes de 45 minutes | 4K | Discovery Channel)
Une coproduction Pango Pictures (Chine) & Backstory Media (France)

Yiconomy-1
Yiconomy-2
Yiconomy-4
Yiconomy-5
Yiconomy-6

Préparation du long-métrage THE PREMIERE (80′), de Luyao Zhang

Ying vient d’un village de pêcheurs sur une petite île du sud de la Chine. Il n’a jamais été un bon élève à l’école. La plupart des personnes de son “gang” au village ont grandi comme ouvriers ou pêcheurs. C’est un endroit où personne ne se soucie de ce qu’est la danse moderne. Cependant, pour Ying, depuis le jour où il a appris à danser, c’est devenu son unique objectif: devenir danseur contemporain. La danse devient alors un moyen d’émancipation sociale pour Ying, quittant l’ancien mode de vie de sa famille pour vivre son rêve à Pékin, et préparer son grand retour au village pour y organiser un jour sa grande « Première ».

Une coproduction Pango Pictures (Chine) & Backstory Media (France).

En savoir +

Symposium scientifique international sur le réchauffement des Pôles

Nous sommes présents au Symposium scientifique international sur le réchauffement des Pôles, organisé par la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco, dans le cadre de notre documentaire d’impact « Antarctica, the cold hard truth », réalisé par Pascal Guérin !

Ce symposium polaire réunira experts et scientifiques de renommée internationale dans le but d’aborder les questions liées à la manière et la vitesse à laquelle les changements dans les régions polaires de notre planète affectent le climat, les systèmes vivants et sociaux, et en quoi cela nous concerne tous.

L’événement vise à informer sur la gestion, les politiques et l’action collective dans les pôles et à alimenter les processus aux niveaux international et régional. Il servira de dialogue historique réaffirmant le rôle de la science dans la prise de décision et revisitant le rôle critique de la cryosphère dans le contexte du changement climatique.

Le symposium est co-organisé par la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco, Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), et l’International Arctic Science Committee (IASC), en collaboration avec l’Institut Océanographique de Monaco, Fondation Prince Albert Ier, l’International Cryosphere Climate Initiative (ICCI) et la Décennie des Nations Unies pour les sciences océaniques au service du développement durable.

Symposium scientifique international sur le réchauffement des Pôles
POLAR_INITIATIVE-logo